And so it begins!

Standard

Jambo, and for those of you who don’t speak Swahili…Hello.

Yep, you guessed it….Kenya here I come!  I got the yes today, my GM agreed and my manager signed my form!!!   So, 2 weeks in Kenya starting February 24th to go and help some of the most needy people in the world.

Over the next few weeks this blog is going to become the centre of my planning and fundraising world, so if you want to keep updated on where I am going and how I am getting there & what I will be doing when I am there please keep an eye out for updates.  I will be tweeting away as well so if you don’t already follow me & you would like more updates (as well as the odd bit of ranting & the occasional rugby related babble) please feel free to hit that follow button!  I am even going to branch out into pictures on this blog. (oh, if anyone knows how to make it look all swanky please get in touch!!)

As I mentioned, there is going to be some exciting fundraising going on, with 5 weeks to go (and counting) and quite  bit of money to raise I am going to be pulling out all the stops!  Think bake sales, pub quizzes, auctions, I may even sit in a bath of baked beans….doubtful, but possible! Don’t worry I won’t be begging you all for money but if you do feel that what I am doing is worth a couple of your hard earned pounds then I will be posting a ‘justgiving’ site up here soon.

I am also looking at doing something with an exciting group called Big Foot Immersion Africa (@BigFootIA) in the run up to me heading over to Kenya so I will keep you all updated!

For now, let me say a HUGE “ASANTE” (the guys from Big Foot are teaching me Swahili – this means thank you) to all of you for your support & kind words on this whole thing! I am really touched.

Lots of Love

Gems

Leave a Reply

