“Imagination rules the world.”

Standard

In order to keep you all up to date as quickly as I can I have written up 2 days worth of excitement!! I hope you enjoy.  Please do let me know what you think as it makes me smile knowing people are reading and enjoying!

Day 5

So day 2 in school and I am yet again blown away by the children.  They are warming to me more and more and today have spent the day sitting with me (or ON me) whilst I made posters for the classroom.  They also get very excited at any chance for a photo to be takne.  They haven’t quite worked out yet that being REALLY close to the camera will not make for a good picture.

 

I spent my lunch time outside with standard 1 & 2 who were trying to teach me some Kenyan songs.  But, being a terrible pupil I failed miserably in my learning!  There is a  video which shows a snippet of the song that they were trying to teach me but I am inept at uploading videos!  Everyone in Kenya knows this song, everyone who has spent time in Kenya is taught this song (or at least there is an attempt to teach them)

After a race to the undercover play area I grabbed some chalk and made an attempt to introduce an English playground game to the playground of a small Kenyan school…Hopscotch which went down a treat!

In return they attempted to teach me one of their games, and again, being a bad pupil I couldn’t grasp it!  It was such a simple concept, a jumping game using the squares on the floor.  I can’t even explain what you are meant to do as I simply couldn’t follow!!  But it truly highlighted to me the imagination of the children.  They use the materials they have, to have what appears to be, a lot of fun!  I don’t know if I have been in ‘adult world’ for too long and lost all my imagination but I don’t really remember doing that as a kid.  Do any of you?

I actually stayed with KG1 all afternoon today which was great.  I spent my time when the children were sleeping

(possibly the cutest thing ever) with Madame Mariam, drawing in their homework books and looking into ways to decorate the classroom.

The teachers are so stretched here, at every spare second they are marking books or writing up homework.  In KG1 she has around 35 kids who a lot of the time, have to entertain themselves somehow whilst Mariam prepares homework or even classwork for them.  What they need is dedicated homework/classwork books so their work can be prepared in advance and not take up valuable class time hand drawing colouring pages.  With a lack of photocopiers or printers to allow the children to take home printed pages, the school rely on the artistic talents of the teachers (or currently, me)

Once my day ends, I usually walk back to the house through the village with Kazungu.  Today however I fancied a change, I also needed to grab some stuff from Nakumat (like cereal; bread and butter does not a breakfast make)  So Kazungu took me along the beach today.  And boy is it beautiful, and SO much cooler than the village route!

Anyway, another early start at school tomorrow so bed time for me!

 

Day 6

I can’t believe it is Thursday already!

Last night was quite eventful.  Edith, Daniels sister-in-law was admitted to hospital with malaria.  She is fine, they caught it early and they have given her drugs but it was pretty scary.

Today I did my first real bit of teaching.  The kids sing songs all the time and most of them are in English.  Shakey Shakey the Mango Tree for example (which is just brilliant, especially in a Kenyan accent.)  So, I decided that along with the 2nd verse to “Head, Shoulders, Knees and Toes” (which went fantastically with my body parts poster I made yesterday) I would attempt to teach my class “Wheels on the Bus”.  Verse one for now but hopefully by the end of my trip I will know Jambo Bwana and they will know at least part of “Wheels on the Bus”

I don’t think there is anything more exciting to tell you all from today…

No…wait…2 of the children have bonded with me enough to come to me when upset.  Macdonald (yes, that is his name, I am assuming he is named after an influential on his parent’s lives) and Saidi both came straight to me and not their regular teacher (or in Saidi’s case, his mum) and both fell asleep on my knee which was super cute but super-hot at the same time!  Think about it…its 35°, 80% humidity, with a small child sat on your lap…sweaty!!

And also, and this is kind of just for my Wirral friends…Look what I came across in Kenya…

Right enough now…BED TIME!!

Gems

One response »

  1. Hahaha of all of the places to find a Tranmere shirt its in Kenya!!!! Woop wirrals on the map 😉 love u gems!!! Xxxxxxx

Leave a Reply

