A familiar face…

Standard

I really should apologise for my distinct lack of blogging activity recently.  Life is getting away with me right now, lots going on, a major update  in the whole James story (which I will let you all know soon) and a nasty little virus (which is currently being dubbed as malaria due to the NHS making me go get tested) that has swept through the entire house and making us all a little lazy!

Apologies over, here is my latest update, it is actually not that long:

Day 11

So my last week at school begins.  I am pretty sad about it to be honest as I have become very attached to my kids.  They are so cute.

I walked into the class and I have never seen children so excited.  They ran up to me, hugging me, saying “hello” or “jambo” or “how are you?”  It was so sweet.  What was funny, or strange I am not sure, was little Ruwa, who last week was my best friend, was in tears at my reappearance.  Then within about 5 minutes he was my best friend again.  Maybe he thought I was never coming back!?

I did a bit of teaching again today.  Well, it was only singing but I was still teaching them things (they found it hilarious, I am not sure if it was my voice or my attempt at teaching that amused them so much)

We were interrupted part way through the day by Ana and Laura doing their tour which actually worked really well.  My kids showed them how good they were at shakey shakey and the girls got to see how awesome my class are!  The children were also a little excitable again today, yet very very cute…I love showing you all pictures so check out some of these!

My little Ruwa and his Uncle Juma

Smiley happy faces all round but especially when you have lego!

Who wouldn't love this face?!

The ball in little Mbwana's hand was brand new this time last week....

How much of a little heart-breaker is little Issa at the back going to be?!

Little Stanley is always smiling!

Cheeky little Sebastian!

Yet again Ruwa fell asleep on me today (I really need to stop him doing that as it is far too hot) and actually, despite his initial tears, spent the majority of the day attached to my hip!

I headed to Nakumat to find some shoes for him and Juma (his uncle, not Carla’s boyfriend) but came up short so a trip to Ukunda market ensued and boy what an experience.   I didn’t really dare take pictures but I wish I had done!
Walking on my own as the only white person (never mind white woman) in the village (yes, I am aware of the “little Britain” thing here) was kind of daunting but I have learnt, from a very inspirational person in my life, to whom I am forever grateful, that there is no point being too scared to do something that you may regret missing out on.  Luckily, the first stall I spot was as shoe store!  I set myself up for ‘tourist prices’ and worked up the courage to start bartering (I am English, we are BAD at trying to make things cheaper) But, I didn’t need my bartering technique at all! The stall owner was really lovely and took a genuine interest as to why I was buying kids shoes!  I explained to him that I was working at Shikamana and 2 pairs were for 2 of the little boys in my class as they had no shoes and hardly enough money for clothes.  He charged me 100KSH a pair, that is less than £1.  I have however vowed to buy some proper shoes for Ruwa and his uncle when I get back to England.

I then ended up in the back streets of Ukunda Town, possibly not the best move in the world but REALLY interesting!  Lots of people, very small thin streets and what felt like hundreds of stalls selling everything from mattresses to mirrors, bags to batteries, anything you could think of, I am sure you would have found it in Ukunda!
I went to jump on a Matatu home and the conductor actually remembered me which was kind of funny, kind of freaky! He knew I was heading to Konamsa!
I got home in time to enjoy some time alone to chill out before the ‘Spanish Mama’s’ got home after one too many beers for my liking making them (well one of them) more obnoxious than usual!

Actually, I forgot to tell you all, I took bubbles in to school today and boy did they go down well.  Lots of shouting and cheering and general merriment! And not just from KG1, but from the older kids too! This needs to be added to anyone’s list when packing for Kenya (or for any volunteer placement working with children)  a bottle of bubbles is a sure-fire way to capture children’s attention!

That’s it for today!  More soon!

Gems

3 responses »

  1. well for me it is clear….. one day you have to get some work in this area. i will send the most positive vibes i cam that you find what is right for you! love you ……’mummy’ xxx

  2. Do you think you might follow Charlotte into teaching if you enjoyed being at school so much? Remember that my charity work is what made me know I wanted to work with children and therefore want to teach! Love you xxx

Leave a Reply

