Sponsor a Child at Shikamana School

Standard

Hi,

For those of you who have been reading my blog for 2 years + (wow) you will know all about the amazing school I was lucky enough to spend 2 weeks working at in February 2012.  For those of you who are new to this blog, please take a read through all the posts in the “Kenya Adventure” section of this blog.

When my mum (Jan Prince for those of you who don’t know the connection) called me asking for advice on her trip to Kenya, my 1st thought was “you HAVE to visit Shikamana School”, it was mainly so she could see for herself what an amazing place it is but I also wanted her to bring me back an update on what was happening there and how the lovely children were doing.  So in November, her and her wonderful partner Heinz made the trip and out of it came more than I could ever have dreamed.

She managed to have a catch up with Jackson (the schools director) and take some more pictures:

DSC_0446 DSC_0451 DSC_0460

She also arranged the most AMAZING surprise for me for Christmas.  I opened the most beautiful envelope to reveal the statement “For a special gift  Sponsorship of a child from Shikamana School” naturally I became a blubbering mess for about 30 minutes when I eventually managed to mutter “thank you”!

Now, the main reason for this post is that not only has mum arranged sponsorship for Ruwa (yep, this little angel is now sponsored by me)

IMG_1411

and the sponsorship of another little boy for my sister, she has been sent a further 10 profiles in the hope that we can find sponsors for them.

This is where you lovely lot come in.  If you are interested in helping one of these amazing kids though school for a year (or more) then please get in touch.  The child you sponsor will write and send pictures and if you are lucky things they have done at school.  You can write, and send pictures yourself too!

The 10 children who have had their profiles sent to us are:

Name Age Class Interests Issues Ambition
Macdonald (m) 4 KG1 Number work, creative, football Lacks basic needs pilot
Twaa (F) 9 3 Maths, English, skipping Poverty pilot
Said (M) 4 KG1 Maths, english and football Lacks basics at home pilot
Melickzedeck 8 Std 1 Maths, English, Science Dental issues and poverty pilot
Joseph 5 KG1 Creative, maths and football Poverty teacher
Mazoea 6 KG1 English, Kiswahili and football Parents cannot provide basic needs doctor
Vincent 4 KG1 Number work and art Lack of basic needs doctor
Juma 7 KG2 Number work and creative Poverty teacher
Mwanarusi (F) 7 Std1 Maths, Engosh, Science and skipping Hardship at home nurse
Zulfa (f) 6 KG2 Maths, science, English and playing hide and seek Parents cannot provide basic needs doctor

Out of these, I worked with 4 of them directly (Macdonald, Said, Zulfa, Juma,0 and they are all AMAZING kids who want to be in school because they somehow know that it will make their lives better.

For more info please comment and either Jan or myself will send you as much info as we can.

We are also trying to collect books, old computers, basic school items etc so if you can help in any way at all please pop me a comment below and we can have a chat.

Thanks for reading.

Much love

Gemma (and Janet) xxxx

6 responses »

    • Hi Annemarie,
      Thanks for the comment. Collecting books would be fab, not sure how we would get them from you but I am sure I can work it out. If you want, I can send you over the pricing structure so you can have a look. I love social media sometimes! xxx

Leave a Reply

